Louisiana Drivers Need Adequate Insurance Coverage

Sep 23, 2014 by Dodson & Hooks, APLC

Shopping for car insurance isn’t fun, and neither is paying the bill. But, having adequate auto insurance coverage is one of the best things you can do to protect yourself and your family.

Car accidents are an unfortunate fact of life. If you are in an accident and you don’t have sufficient coverage, you could find yourself unable to pay for your medical care. If you were responsible for the accident, you could end up having to pay for the other person’s damages out of your own pocket.

Louisiana law requires every driver to carry two types of insurance – bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. Bodily injury liability provides coverage if you injure someone else in an accident. Louisiana requires a minimum coverage of $15,000 for injuries to one person and $30,000 for injuries to all people injured in an accident. Property damage liability insurance covers damage you do to someone else’s vehicle. Louisiana drivers are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 in coverage.

These minimums may not provide enough coverage for some people. With how expensive medical care is these days, it’s easy to imagine a situation in which multiple people are injured in an auto accident and collectively accrue more than $30,000 in medical bills. If you have assets that exceed your liability limits, a court might order you to pay the medical bills yourself. A good rule of thumb is to purchase an insurance policy with limits that are high enough to protect your personal assets.

Louisiana Uninsured Motorist Coverage

These insurance policies are designed to provide coverage when you cause harm to another person. If you’re hit by an insured driver, their policy will cover you. But what if you are hit by an uninsured driver? What if you are injured in a hit-and-run accident?

Although it’s not required by Louisiana law, you should consider purchasing uninsured motorist coverage. This insurance policy will make sure you and your family is taken care of if you are hit by an uninsured or hit-and-run driver.

Most insurance policies automatically include uninsured motorist coverage unless the customer asks that it not be included. Although it can seem appealing to save money by rejecting the coverage, it can often end up costing you a lot more in the long run.

Of course, having good coverage doesn’t always mean an insurance company will pay what they are supposed to. If you are injured in a car accident, contact an experienced Louisiana personal injury attorney who can fight on your behalf.

CALL US 24/7: 855-515-1257

multi-lingual staff, diverse attorneys ready to help you!

Dedicated to Personal Injury Litigation and Admiralty Law

Let us help you rebuild your life.

Contact Us Now
For your free consultation / Multilingual Staff
Fill out my online form.
Get Your Free Consultation Today
Back to Top of Page